Over a Cup: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Over a cup (1)

I’ve been so overwhelmed with everything I want to read lately. You know that feeling where you want to internalize as many stories as possible but it feels like you can’t possibly prioritize them all efficiently? That’s what I’m going through right now. I start a book and get serious FOMO from the books sitting next to me on my bedside table.

So this is one of the books I’m juggling at the moment.

Currently Drinking: Iced Cafe Mocha (my favorite)

Currently Reading: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Two of my best friends read this book a couple months back (closer to the start of the year) and freaked out because they loved it so much.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it on here before, but, I’m not the biggest fantasy and/or science fiction fan. I love things based in the real world because I don’t have to think too much about the world building. If I’m going to like a fantasy it has to be pretty exceptional and believable and have characters that are rock-stars (I’m looking at you all things Leigh Bardugo).

One of my friends lists Bardugo as one of her favorite authors so I trust most of her fantasy recs. I let her wade through the good and the bad. She also knows me well enough to tell when something will be worth the effort for me.

So here we are – reading a fantasy!

27774758

This one is told from two perspectives.

The first, Laia, is a slave in this society. She has lost her parents and sister to the Empire. All she has left in the world is her grandparents and her brother until, one day, she doesn’t even have them anymore.

Laia decides she must join an underground (literally) resistance so that she can survive and get back something she loves.

The second, Elias, is a solider in the Empire’s army. He has been training to be a part of the Empire’s greatest military academy and at the top of his class. His fellow students have no idea that Elias is planning to desert his post and start a new life. One in which he doesn’t have to be the cause of death and fear. But deserters who are caught are killed.

Their fates are entwined.

I’m listening to the audiobook version of this one and I’m really enjoying it so far.

Let me know if you’ve read this one and if you liked it. If you did, do you have other suggestions of fantasy I might like?

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

