Over a Cup: Othello, The Moor of Venice by William Shakespeare

Over a cup (1)

I’ve been getting down on myself for keeping up with popular literature and not going back to some “classics.” Last night I had the overwhelming urge to read some Shakespeare. So I woke up, went to the gym, and then immediately found my copy of Shakespeare’s Complete Plays and paged to one I’d never read before.

Currently Drinking: Dunkin’ Donuts S’mores Iced Coffee (so good!)

Currently Reading: Othello, The Moor of Venice by William Shakespeare

Image result for othelloI’m one of those nerds who really loves to read and discuss Shakespeare with others. I was an English Lit major, after all.

In high school I fell in love with the Bard. I fell in love with (almost) anything that references Shakespeare. And I swore that I would read every play he wrote before the end of my life. And then after I got into grad school I didn’t read anything from Shakespeare for, like, 3 years.

So here’s my re-introduction to my goal!

 

“The robb’d that smiles steals something from the thief;/He robs himself that spends a bootless grief.”

I’m so excited to be reading Othello. The tragedies are my favorite from Shakespeare and I’m mildly obsessed with how Shakespeare expresses love in his characters.

My favorites are MacBeth and The Tempest. This is feeling like a nice combination of the two.

In any event, I’m enjoying the process of reading Shakespeare again and will likely go onto No Fear Shakespeare to teach myself even more about it than I gain from reading the play myself. Oh, how I miss formal classes!

If you have suggestions for which play I should read next – let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

