Over a Cup: Things I Wish I’d Known Before We Got Married

Over a cup (1)

Oh my! It feels like I haven’t written anything about books in half a lifetime. (Well, it has been over two weeks.) I hope to post more frequently and I want to carve more time out of my schedule for it. Here’s hoping!

Currently Drinking: Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino (in a bottle)

Currently Reading: Things I Wish I’d Known Before We Got Married by Gary Chapman

While on vacation, my boyfriend’s mom gave me a book to read. She knows that Tim, my boyfriend, and I have a plan to get engaged and married within the next three years.

Her gift to me was this book, her own personal copy, and the advice. We are both people who love school and learning. She told me that we prepare for college and grad school and our future jobs. We study for all of the things and research long hours to really understand something and make it happen. People rarely, though, study for marriage.

This book walks through points about how being in love sometimes isn’t enough. A relationship should be based on a partnership. We should understand the expectations we have for one another – chores they will do, how they will apologize, how they will forgive, how they will love.

It’s really interesting to read. I have been reading a chapter every night before I go to sleep. This morning I realized I have a late day and wanted to get my sleep schedule back on track so I’m reading today’s chapter now.

I’ve been really enjoying it and would highly recommend others give it a read. Even if you don’t expect your relationship to end with marriage – it gives helpful advice for just being committed to and living with another person.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

