TBR #2, or What I Have Checked Out

TO BE READ

What I have checked out at the library is probably the better indication of my TBR.

I have a list that could wrap around the Earth of books I want to read on Goodreads but when I get to all of them…who knows!

Because I’m nosy I like to know what people have on their to read list and why it ended up so close to the top. Here is my TBR and why.

Gemina – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I explained this mostly in a previous blog postIlluminae struck me as a book that I really wanted to read and I fell in love with it. I immediately put this book on delayed hold so it would come to me when I had a little more time in my schedule – professionally and personally. So here we are!

Princess Jellyfish, Vol. 1 – Akiko Higashimura

This one popped up on NYPL’s The Librarian Is In… a number of episodes back now. When I recommended that our manga buyer read it she immediately bought the whole series and consumed them in a matter of days. Needless to say, I have a lot of great people I trust recommending this one and know I have to give it a try.

Universal Harvester – John Darnielle

This one got picked up upon the suggestion of a different co-worker. Mystery that is more like literary fiction. The more she described it to me the more I thought it sounded like The Road by Cormac McCarthy. Thought it was at least worth a thumb through.

Nemesis – Brendan Reichs

A girl is killed every other year on her birthday. What about that sentence blurb doesn’t appeal to a human? This one is pre-potential-apocalyptic and I’m excited to give it a read. Saw it advertised on Goodreads and jumped at the chance to read it.

Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor

I’ve been seeing this one all over Goodreads, too. What really sold this one off the self to me was when I learned there was a character who is a librarian. Are you kidding me? This one lives at my desk at work in the hopes I will stop working during my lunch break long enough to read it.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han

This book is always all over bookstagram (or, Instagram bookish accounts/photos). I’ve never been that interested in the plot. I did show up on the Abe Lincoln list for YA Illinois Reads and I knew it was worth reading to see what the teens might be voting for.

Homegoing – Yaa Gyasi (Audiobook)

My friend book club picked this as our March/April read. Listening to it is probably the only way it will actually move up on my reading list. I have heard nothing but the highest praise about this book and cannot wait to tuck into it. I normally listen to audiobooks while I get ready for work and drive. Hopefully it is a good listen.

Star-Crossed – Barbara Dee

A friend of mine had this marked as “To Read” on Goodreads and I thought the cover was cute. I have been looking for more J Fiction to read because I often end up working with middle grade readers. Looking in to it more I found that it deals with sexuality in middle school. I think this is such an important topic to put in front of readers to normalize the topic. Really looking forward to this one.

Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake

Another The Librarian Is In… suggestion! Gwen Glazer described it as The Hunger Games meets high fantasy and royalty. Consider me sold. I’ve never read anything else by this author. The cover is really nice and I’m already into it from the few pages I’ve read so far.

Saga, Vol. 2 – Brian K. Vaughn

 

I finished the first volume of Saga ages ago. I really liked it but needed a breather after the first one. As I’ve stated elsewhere on this blog, I’m not the biggest fan of sci-fi. Reading about other planets and technologies and fake species really doesn’t do anything for me. That being said, in the graphic format it’s way more bearable because I don’t have to read through the world building. The art is there to tell the story alongside the text. This might not be a series I will read for forever but I thought I would give it another shot.

Leave a Reply

