Reading Resolutions 2017

There has been a tag floating around BookTube community in the past week or so regarding book-ish resolutions.

I thought I would add my picks to the endless lists out there to hold myself responsible!

  1. An author you would like to read this year (that you have never read before)?
    I think I would like this one to be Anne Tyler. I have a co-worker who loves everything Anne Tyler puts out and I still haven’t bitten the bullet. So no time like the present!
  2. A book you would like to read?
    Half because of my love for Wishful Drinking and half because of my undying love for Carrie Fisher – I want to read The Princess Diarist this year. (I should read it in the next few days because the holds list stretches to a galaxy far, far away.)
  3. A classic you would like to read?
    I think I will use this resolution to also accomplish one of the Read Harder challenges – read a classic by an author of color. I think my life will be a little better if I finally read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings this year! It’s also one of those books that has sat on my shelf unread for too many years.
  4. A book you would like to re-read?
    This is sort of an easy one. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt was sooooo good and I tell people to read it all the time. It’s been about 2 years since I read it last and I would like to read it again. So much that I made it my first book for my library’s book club. 🙂
  5. A book you have had for ages and want to read?
    So many to choose from. I will pick Resistance, Rebellion and Death: Essays by Albert Camus. Coming back to some classics sounds like a decent theme for this year.
  6. A big book you would like to read?
    This is the biggest commitment – eek! Here goes: I want to read (probably more listen to) The Brothers Karamazov. I loved Crime and Punishment so I hope to like this one, too.
  7. An author you have previously read and want to read more of?
    DANIEL HANDLER! I still have not read We Are Pirates and that is a crime.
  8. A book you got for Christmas and would like to read?
    Shockingly, I did not get many books for Christmas this year that I had not already read. I did, however, buy myself The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart with some gift card money. So that is what I will read this year!
  9. A series you want to read (start to finish)?
    You know, I have always wanted to read the Lord of the Rings books. They mean a lot to my dad. I think it is about time I get around to reading them. This is the year!
  10. A series you would to finish (that you have already started)?
    I could not think of a series that I have started that have the last book in the series published yet. So, instead, I’m resolving to finish the Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy comic series that was published last year.
  11. Do you set reading goals? If so, how many books do you wan to read in 2017?
    My Goodreads goal is set at 100 books (not including picture books). I was able to read 130 in 2016 even while being in school for half of the year!
  12. Any other reading goals?
    To read more diversely. To read more books from non-US and UK authors. To read something that scares me. To write a review for every book I read this year (lofty goal).
Leave a Reply

