TBR #1, or What I Have Checked Out

Hello!

Welcome to the new year! So far, 2017 hasn’t been the gentlest new year to me but I have high hopes for what this year can bring. But that’s not why I’m posting this. I’m posting this because I have several books checked out from the library I work for. Since these are the most pressing on my TBR at the moment I thought I would let you know what I’m planning to start my new year with.

And yes, I know that this is too many items to have checked out at once…

The Marvels by Brian Selznick

I read Wonderstruck a few years back and was extremely impressed. Finally, over Thanksgiving, I got around to reading The Invention of Hugo Cabret and loved that just as much. When I realized that Brian Selznick wrote another book in the same style I checked out it. This one I have renewed at least once already. I hope to have it done in the next few days.

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

While listening to The Librarian Is In… podcast last week I heard them mention Ta-Nehisi Coates. They discussed how he was the closest thing America currently has to a scholar. I have heard many people talk about this book with great revere. Now is probably the best time to read it. Well, listen to it. I have the audiobook checked out on OverDrive.

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Anders

This book was chosen by Daniel Handler as one of the best books he had read in 2016. That was all the persuasion I needed.

Paper Girls, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughn

I read and loved the first volume. The second volume finally came in at the library and I had to read it!

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

In light of recent events I needed to read this. Wishful Drinking is one of my all-time favorite reads and I was so interested in what she had to say in this one.

The One Hundred Nights of Hero: A Graphic Novel by Isabel Greenberg

The reviews on this one were just too good not to buy it. Then Glen Weldon of NPR said it was one of his favorite reads of 2016. So of course I had to check it out!

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This one got checked out because I constantly see it featured in bookstagram posts and wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

With an eye to the read harder challenge of reading a YA book with a LGBTQ+ author I picked up this one. I have heard nothing but good things about this book. It also happened to be the only Levithan book checked into the library at that moment.

Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi

This one is something I would have never thought to pick up for myself. I have it checked out because I am attending a Book Club Study next week and this is the book we are basing the study around. I couldn’t make myself read it quickly enough so I have mostly been listening to the audio version.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

Far too late to the trend, I read All the Bright Places. I fell deeply in love with the characters and was very moved by the whole thing. My love and residual feelings for Bright Places led me to put this book and hold. I’ve already renewed it several times because I haven’t made it a priority yet. Surprisingly it hasn’t been on hold for anyone else yet.

Gemina by Amy Kaufman

Like Holding Up the Universe, I just got around to reading Illuminae this year and was in love. I don’t have strong feelings for many things sci-fi so I knew I needed to read even more from this series. This is definitely one I will feel the need to share my feelings for.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Finally, like the rest of the population I decided I needed to read this book before I see the movie.

Leave a Reply

